March 6, 2012

Seven earn spots in Indianapolis meet

The NCAA D-III Men and Women’s Swimming and Diving Committee announced the participants for the 2012 NCAA D-III Championships last Thursday, March 1. Five Maroons on the women’s team and two Maroons on the men’s team secured spots in the national championship meet, which will be held at the Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis from March 21–24. Qualifying swimmers were chosen based on minimum times set for each event.

On the men’s side, first-years Andrew Salomon and Andrew Angeles qualified for the Championship. Angeles qualified in the 100-meter breaststroke and Salomon qualified in the 500-meter freestyle.

“I am very excited to compete and race some of the best swimmers in the nation,” Angeles said. “It really is an honor to be just going to the meet and representing UChicago.”

Salomon is proud as well.

“I feel pretty good about qualifying, as it is extremely difficult to do and I was on the edge in getting in,” he said.

In terms of preparation, neither swimmer will be taking any particularly special steps. Instead, they’ll be following the same regimen that the team has been preparing with for the last month or so.

“Over the next few weeks, I am getting focused and trying to get some rest,” Angeles said.

“I’m trying to get some more intense work in before UAAs,” Salomon said, “but I was sick for a couple of days, which hindered my ability to work hard.”

The meet poses a challenge for both swimmers, but they are ready to face the challenge.

“NCAAs [are] a serious meet, and there will be very fast swimmers there,” Angeles said.

“I’ve swam at YMCA Nationals for several years, but I suspect that is not as big or prestigious as this,” Salomon said.

Angeles will also be competing in the 200-meter breaststroke, but at the B-cut level as opposed to the A-cut.

Maroons’ entire 800-meter freestyle relay qualified, including fourth-year Laura Biery, first-year Bizzy Millen, third-year Kathleen Taylor, and fourth-year Jacqueline Trudeau. Millen also qualified for the 500-meter freestyle, and Taylor for the 1,650-meter freestyle. Finally, fourth-year Tara Levens qualified for the 100-meter backstroke.

Qualifying divers will be announced on Tuesday, March 6. A total of 242 female swimmers will be participating at Nationals, and Chicago’s UAA rival Emory is sending 18 of them. A total of 235 male swimmers will be in Indianapolis, with 14 coming from Emory.

The seven Maroons who qualified are training relentlessly to be prepared for Nationals, and to hopefully bring a medal back to Hyde Park.