November 8, 2016

Alumni Association Awards Univeristy Graduates and Faculty Member

Last Friday, the Alumni Association gave eight University graduates and one faculty member awards in recognition of professional accomplishments, service to the University, or teaching. 

The awards were given at a dinner at the Drake Hotel in the Near North Side of Chicago. 

Five alumni awards were given to graduates of the University who excelled in their careers. They were awarded to Elizabeth Smith (A.M. ’71), former executive director of the Hyams Foundation, an organization that fights for racial justice and economic equity in the U.S., Gordon Quinn (A.B. ’65), documentary filmmaker and executive producer of Hoop Dreams, Lawrence Friedman (A.B. ’48, J.D. ’51, LL.M ’53), a professor at Stanford Law School, Eugene Van Scott (S.B. ’45, M.D. ’48), a dermatologist who pioneered a treatment for lymphoma, and Gary Haugen (J.D. ’91), the founder of International Justice Mission, an organization that saves people from human trafficking and slavery.  

Michael Murrin, a professor emeritus of religion and literature and Raymond W. and Martha Hilpert Gruner Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus, received the Norman Maclean Faculty Award for his teaching and contributions to the student community. Murrin has published works on comparative literature and has taught classes in the College, Divinity School, and the Humanities Division on topics such as medieval English literature, fairy tales, and Renaissance epics.  

The Alumni Service Award, which is given to alumni for their significant service to the University, was awarded to Dalita Balassanian (A.B. ’01) and Neil Faust, (A.B. ’86, M.B.A. ’91) for their contributions to the Alumni Clubs of New York and Japan, respectively. Shalin Desai (A.B. ’05) was awarded the Young Alumni Service Award for his service as president of the Alumni Club of Boston.